Athletics Teams » Athletic Teams

Athletic Teams

In order to participate in any Public School Athletic League PSAL events (including tryouts and practice) a student-athletes must have updated paperwork. The paperwork includes
  1. Pre-Participation Physical, completed online by a parent or guardian applies to student-athletes that participated in Newtown sports last 2019-2020 school year. They may submit an extension to their prior medical. This provides a 30 day extension to submitting a Medical Form. (Pre-Participation Physical).
  2. Medical Form as filled out by a doctor. These are completed once a year. (Medical Form)
  3. Parental Permission completed by the parent or guardian of the scholar-athlete. These are completed for each season of participation. (Parental Permission Form)
  4. COVID-19 Testing Permission Form (Spanish) gives the school and PSAL permission to test athletes for COVID-19. These may have already been completed if the student-athlete is in Cohort A or Cohort B. (COVID-19 Testing Permission Form)
The Urban Health Clinic is located in Newtown High School and serves the students of the school campus. To schedule a physical at the Newtown High School Health Clinic please complete the intake form (English | Spanish) Call (347) 686-3690 to make an appointment. Hours are Monday - Friday 8AM-4PM.
 
You may print the linked forms and submit in person to the coach. You may also email a scanned or photographed copy of it to the coach of the team you are interested in participating in (the paper will need to be submitted the first practice). A complete list of coach names, sports and contact emails are available here.
 
Spring Season
Baseball Varsity Coach R. Canela RCanela@schools.nyc.gov 
Baseball JV Coach S. Bustamante SBustamante@schools.nyc.gov
Cricket Varsity Coed Coach E. Wozniak EWoznia@schools.nyc.gov 
Handball Girls Varsity Coach L. Santana LSantana6@schools.nyc.gov 
Outdoor Track & Field Coed Coach J. Hanley JHanley8@schools.nyc.gov 
Softball Varsity Coach W. Crawford WCrawfo@schools.nyc.gov 
Softball JV Coach K. Francisco KFrancisco@schools.nyc.gov 
Tennis Boys Coach G. Maier GMaier@schools.nyc.gov
Volleyball Boys Coach J. Schack JSchack@schools.nyc.gov
 
Fall Season
Bowling Varsity Coed Coach J. Meglio JMeglio@schools.nyc.gov 
Cross Country Boys Coach J. Hanley JHanley8@schools.nyc.gov 
Cross Country Girls Coach W. Crawford WCrawfo@schools.nyc.gov 
Soccer  Boys Coach E. Wozniak EWoznia@schools.nyc.gov 
Soccer Girls Coach J. Ramirez JRamire11@schools.nyc.gov 
Tennis Girls Coach G. Maier GMaier@schools.nyc.gov 
Volleyball Girls Varsity Coach J. Schack JSchack@schools.nyc.gov 
Volleyball Girls JV Coach R. Canela RCanela@schools.nyc.gov 
 
Winter Season
Basketball Boys Varsity Coach W. Crawford WCrawfo@schools.nyc.gov 
Basketball Boys JV Coach J. Schack JSchack@schools.nyc.gov 
Basketball Girls Coach R. Canela RCanela@schools.nyc.gov 
Indoor Track & Field Coed Coach J. Hanley JHanley8@schools.nyc.gov